Legislative Budget Office Oversight Commission

Draft Meeting Minutes February 5, 2021

Present:

Sen. Mary Kiffmeyer Sen. John Marty Sen. Julie Rosen Sen. Melissa Wiklund Rep. Tony Albright Rep. Steve Elkins Rep. Mohamud Noor Rep. Jerry Hertaus James Nobles, Legislative Auditor (ex-officio) Angela Vogt, MMB (ex-officio) Eric Nauman, Lead Fiscal Analyst, Senate (ex-officio) Bill Marx, Chief Fiscal Analyst, House of Representatives (ex-officio) Krista Carsner, Commission Executive Secretary, LBO Director (ex-officio)

Sen. Kiffmeyer, Chair, called the remote meeting of the Legislative Budget Office Oversight Commission to order at 11:01 a.m. via Zoom. The meeting was live-streamed to the public via YouTube.

A quorum was present.

Approval of Minutes

There were no corrections or additions to the December 2, 2020 meeting minutes. Rep. Hertaus moved to accept the minutes. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Election of Chair and Co-Chair for 2021-2022

Sen. Kiffmeyer opened nominations for the Legislative Budget Office Oversight Commission chair. Rep. Albright nominated Rep. Hertaus. Sen. Marty nominated Rep. Noor. Sen. Kiffmeyer called for a vote and Rep. Hertaus received four votes (Hertaus, Kiffmeyer, Rosen, Albright) and Noor received three votes (Noor, Wiklund, Marty). Rep. Elkins had not yet joined the meeting when the vote was taken.

Sen. Kiffmeyer turned the gavel over to the new chair, Rep. Hertaus. Rep. Hertaus opened the nominations for Vice Chair. Sen. Rosen nominated Sen. Kiffmeyer. Rep. Noor nominated Sen. Wiklund. Sen. Kiffmeyer withdrew her name from consideration as vice chair, and moved to unanimously elect Sen. Wiklund as vice chair.

The commission discussed the custom and practice of commissions concerning electing officers, reconsidering a vote, and the bylaws of this commission.

Rep. Elkins moved to reconsider the vote of the commission chair.

After further discussion, Sen. Kiffmeyer moved to recess the meeting. Chair Hertaus recessed the meeting at 11:26, to reconvene at 11:35 a.m.

The meeting reconvened at 11:35 a.m. Chair Hertaus took up the motion to reconsider the vote of the commission chair. THE MOTION FAILED.

Chair Hertaus turned to the nominations for vice chair. Sen. Kiffmeyer moved to unanimously elect Sen. Wiklund as vice chair.

After further discussion, Sen. Wiklund withdrew her name from consideration.

Rep. Noor moved to adjourn the meeting. Sen. Marty asked for a division vote. The vote to adjourn was:

Sen. Marty: aye Sen. Rosen: aye Sen. Wiklund: aye Rep. Albright: aye Rep. Elkins: aye Rep. Hertaus: no Rep. Noor: aye Sen. Kiffmeyer: aye

The vote to adjourn was 7 ayes to 1 nay. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 11:56 a.m.